Home > Uncategorized > Events that shaped your career

Events that shaped your career

This article here where the author shares 10 things he heard during his career that influenced him or stayed with him is an interesting one.

I think there are three quotes that I recall instantly.

Two are from my same boss. And one from my boss’s, boss’s, boss’s…

1. “Don’t try to be a hero”: Advice from my first boss in Ogilvy telling me that at the hint of a problem pull him in, than try to solve it single handedly and fail.

2. “Trust the team” : Actually this was not advice to me, but he was telling me that the only way forward was to to trust the team behind you. He was saying..I trust you. Don’t try to be a hero.

3. “Laughter in the halls”. To date I believe a good indicator of successful companies..ok maybe just agencies, is how much laughter do you hear.

The article I reference also has many comments below capturing comments others have heard that influenced them.

What about you?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. August 19, 2009 at 8:19 am

    You are always inspiring. 🙂

  2. Sreenesh
    October 1, 2009 at 7:09 am

    The ones that influenced my career was: 1/ from old boss’s, boss who defined professionalism as one’s ability to compartmentalize his life and work…..2/ the other from a recently acquired boss- ‘progress is not about how fast you move ahead but about the direction in which you move’- so true, given the fast paced life, short career stints and relationship stints, myopic brand visions…and the last one from another boss- ‘treat yourself as a brand where you are the CEO’

    • HARISH VASUDEVAN
      October 2, 2009 at 1:22 am

      Good comments all. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

