Home > Uncategorized > How technology has evolved…

How technology has evolved…

Many, many years ago when IVRs were gaining in popularity in call centres a colleague of mine related this story to me..

He had called the helpline of the bank that never sleeps.

Went through the menu of press 1 for a, 2 for b, 4 for f etc. And press 0 if you want to speak to the operator. Let me digress for a minute, but I think 99% of the time I call, I have to press 0. Maybe I am special, that the system cannot deal with my queries?

Back to my friend. Sure he needed to speak to a customer service officer.

But all our officers are busy, would you like to hold or call back in a while.

The poor guy fell for it and decided to log off and dial back in a while.

When he called back he was exactly in the same situation as earlier. The Customer service officers were still busy, and he could wait or dial back later.

This time he decided to wait.

I kid you not, he waited, or at least that’s what he said, he was on hold for over 20 minutes. Through the entire period he listened to sales messages from the bank, adding to his irritation.

After the 20 minute wait, he was informed that due to the inconvenience caused he had been pre approved for a personal loan at a discounted rate.

And to get that loan he had to call the bank on their number which was the number he’d been holding on for the last 20 minutes!!!

Technology huh?

Now that story is nearly 10 years old. Probably technology has evolved.

All I know is that I am still pressing 0 to talk to a customer service officer.

Fast forward to last week.

If you read my last blog, you’d know I was in Tokyo.

And guess what, Google decided that I speak Japanese. I would love to but beyond hello and thank you I am lost.

The search results were all in Japanese, with not a word in English. After struggling with it for a bit, I finally turned to one of 3 colleagues in the office who can speak English and Japanese to change the setting.

This week in China, and now I need to speak Mandarin to work on Google.

I think I read somewhere that  they are a very technology strong company and have some very bright people who rely on it to improve our experience with their services. But I would think this is an easy problem to solve.

Now I am not a technology guy, really, but I would have a program written that identifies multiple visits from the same IP address.  Some would be self selected like Gmail or Google reader. Some are server automated, like search results. All my program would have to do, is to give language preference to self selected login based ones.

To take my Japan example, I was on Gmail and Google reader, from the same log in. The system should have recognized that I am using English for the other two, and served English results for Search.

And of course instances where this view is not available, make the language selection nice and easy with large, visible buttons. Sometimes size does matter!

I think that opens huge advertising opportunities for brands trying to target international visitors to a market. International brands, international restaurants etc come to mind.

Or am I being too simple?

  1. April 17, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Nice Articles. I’ll be back soon to read others articles from this site. Thanks

  2. August 10, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    I get pleasure from, lead to I found exactly what I was having a look for.
    You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  1. April 10, 2010 at 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

